Follow @fleurcamacho Tweet to @fleurcamacho

Tuesday, May 19, 2015

The Five Stages of Andrew Brawley by Shaun David Hutchinson

  (5 out of 5)
"Life is about more than hate. It takes more than anger to make a hero."

"There's a hole in me. A gaping wound. Every part of me misses every part of them. And it never stops hurting. I can't bear the thought of missing you, too."

The Five Stages of Andrew Brawley is a touching story about a boy who has lost his family, lives in the hospital, and tries to find a purpose in life. He serves food in the cafeteria, hangs out with the nurses in the ER, and visits the sick kids/teens in the pediatrics. All while he draws an epic graphic novel/comic about an anti-superhero depicting himself.

I thought that The Five Stages of Andrew Brawely was extremely well written. I loved Hutchinson's style of writing, as well as his story telling capabilities. The story was tragic, heart breaking, funny, loving, and inspiring. It's a story like this one that needs to be told.  It references topics like bullying, acceptance, LGBT lives, love, death, and so much more. Andrew as a main character was truly inspiring to me. We see him go through so much as the story progresses that you can't help but care deeply about him, the loss that he's suffered, and the blurry future that's ahead of him. The same goes for Rusty, Lexi, and Trevor. 

The most important subject this book talks about is death. Death is all around us. It's inevitable, and there is nothing we can do about it.  We have to accept the fact that things happen for a reason, and we can't always be the hero that saves the day.  For me The Five Stages of Andrew Brawley helped me grow as a person, not just emotionally, but spiritually as well. As someone who has experienced death in the family, I could really relate to how Andrew was feeling, and what he was going through. This story touched my heart, and I hope it does the same for everyone else who is lucky to read it.

Finally I want to talk about the graphic novel portion of the story. After certain chapters we get to see the story that Andrew created. It helps paint the picture of how he is truly feeling when he's too afraid to admit it out loud. He feels everything that happened was his fault and it really showed through the character that he created in his world. It was a great addition to the over all story and it wouldn't be what it is without it!!   

So I hope you enjoyed my review of The Five Stages of Andrew Brawley by Shaun David Hutchinson.
See ya next time,

Jesse Nicholas 

Jesse Nicholas, todays guest blogger, lives in Manitoba, Canada. He is an aspiring writer and one day wishes to have a novel published. Along with writing, Jesse enjoys music, travel, trashy TV, and is an avid reader of anything in the Young Adult genre. He currently posts reviews on the YA novels he reads on his blog, and spends hours upon hours coming up with ideas for a future novel.  You can read other book reviews on his blog at

No comments:

Post a Comment